Posted by: Landscape Ecology Working Group | December 3, 2012

XXIV IUFRO World Congress – Call for session proposal

2014worldcongressXXIV IUFRO World Congress

“Sustaining Forests, Sustaining People: The Role of Research”

Salt Lake City, Utah (USA): October 5-11, 2014 –


July 2013: Call for abstracts // November 2013: Registration opens

PDF for download

The Congress Scientific Committee invites submission of session proposals for the 2014 IUFRO Congress. In keeping with the spirit of the Congress title – Sustaining Forests, Sustaining People: The Role of Research – the Congress Scientific Committee is developing a program that will highlight the contributions that forest science is making to address the significant environmental, social and economic challenges facing our world. The Congress program will reflect the forest science community’s diverse contributions across the full range of natural and social science disciplines, with special emphasis on key issues and research areas identified in IUFRO’s 2010-2014 Strategy.

Session proposals will be accepted that address one or more of the following Congress themes:

– Forests for People
– Forest Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services
– Forests and Climate Change
– Forest and Water Interactions
– Forest Biomass and Bioenergy
– Forests and Forest Products for a Greener Future
– Forest Health in a Changing World

Proposals should be submitted between January and April, 2013, online at using the Session Proposal Form. Proposals will not be accepted after April 30th.

We look forward to hearing from you and for your active participation in the design of an excellent scientific program for the 2014 IUFRO Congress in Salt Lake City.

The IUFRO 2014 Congress Scientific Committee
John Parrotta (Chair:; Jens Peter Skovsgaard (Division 1:; Yousry El-Kassaby (Division 2:; Hans Heinimann (Division 3:; Ron McRoberts (Division 4:; Andrew Wong (Division 5:; Tuija Sievänen (Division 6:; Tod Ramsfield (Division 7:; Alain Franc (Division 8:; Jim Johnson (Division 9:; Mike Wingfield (Vice-President, Divisions:; Su See Lee (Vice-President, Task Forces, Special Programmes, Projects and IUFRO-led Initiatives:; Lisa Hansen (International Forestry Students Association:; Richard Guldin (ex-officio; COC Chair).